Tuesday, March 1, 2011

THE RESULTS ARE IN!!!!!

So here are the results I got:

JULIE M.-12.6 ($144.00)
JASON R.-11.6 ($108.00)
JASON P.-10.9 ($72.00)
ALEX F.-7.3 ($36.00)
Stacey-7.1
Julie R.-6.5
Tammy-4.4
Linda-3.6
Helena-3.3
Angela and Justin -"Fatter than last week". Their words, not mine.
Sara-3.1
Greg-"Awesome", also his own words.

So way to go everybody! And I want to thank Jason P. for keeping me motivated the entire time. I've never had to work so hard to catch up to somebody! Good for all of us and I'd like to say I won't be seeing you next year but, alas, I'll see you next year!

Monday, February 28, 2011

Is the suspense killing you?

As of 7:30 I have 11 results in so I think I know the outcome but do have to wait for the other people to get me their percentages in. I'll post first thing in the morning. Then I'll have to get addresses from a few of you as I'll get checks off tomorrow if I get them soon enough.

Tuesday, February 22, 2011

Week #7

I've decided that this may be as good as it gets so I'm going to give the results that I have for our seventh week:

Julie M.-10.7
Jason R.-9.5
Jason P.-8.7
Alex-7.1
Tammy-5.3
Justin-4.6
Angela-4.3
Sara-3.7
Helena-3.3
Lori-3

What's happening people????

It's now Tuesday at 4:00 and I still don't even have half the results. Cough 'em up people!

A couple of things

First of all, it's Tuesday morning and I only have 7 results in so I guess I'll wait till tonight to see if I have enough to make it worthwhile to post. Until then I wanted to mention a couple of things.

I know I've sent out this reminder already but I'm going to send it one more time since we are down to SIX DAYS of the competition. PLEASE do NOT forget to get me your totals sometime next Monday, Feb. 28, so you won't be disqualified. I can still post your percentages for a day or two after that but if you want to have a chance for the money it HAS to be in by Monday and I won't be able to fudge or take any excuses. Monday, no later.

Also, since I am in kind of an awkward position of hopefully being one of the top contenders and I'm the one getting all the results I've been trying to figure a way to make sure nobody thinks I cheated if I'm lucky enough to get some of the money. I know I'd never cheat and anybody who knows me knows that as well but I still want to be accountable. So, what I'm going to do, since I seldom have any results too early in the day, I will have mine probably by 10:30 or 11:00 and then I'm going to send my results to at least Sara and Angela. Initially I was just going to send it to Sara but since she's my daughter I thought maybe that was not enough so I will also send to Angela. We are all extremely honest so at least that way I have a couple of people to vouch for the fact that I did not up my percentage by even a fraction of a percentage point to give myself an advantage. Don't get me wrong, I WANT to win in the worst way but that's just it, I want to win, it wouldn't be winning if I cheated so I'd never in a million years even consider it.

One final thing, since I think it could come down to the wire like it has in our last two competitions would everybody send me a couple of places after the decimal point in case I need to go that far to figure out the winner.

Thanks and good luck all on our final stretch. It's all been said before but we should all be proud. If you've lost a single pound then that is better than when you started.

Monday, February 21, 2011

Sorry folks

It is nearly 8:00 and I only have 4 results in including mine so it's not worth it to even post them so I'll wait till tomorrow.

Can I beat "me?"

I was looking back on the first year we did this to compare my progress to this year. In order to beat "me" from 2009, I need to end up with 11.2% lost by week 8. Yeah. I know. I don't think I ate at all the first year.

It will be tough, but I STILL intend to beat "me." If nothing else, I will be able to say, I worked harder than I ever have.

So now you know the target goal I am shooting for, can you beat "me?" We'll find out next week!

:)

Monday, February 14, 2011

Week 6 results

It's nearly 8:00 so here's what I have so far.

Julie M.-8.9 (I had to make up for last week!)
Jason P.-8.5 (more doughnuts please)
Jason R.-8.3 (ditto on the doughnuts)
Stacey-7.1
Alex-6.8
Tammy-5.1
Julie R.-5
Justin-4.6
Angela-4.3
Lea-4.3
Sara-3.7
Lori-3.6
Helena-2.9

Can you believe we only have 2 weeks to go, the light at the end of the tunnel is starting to beam.

Monday, February 7, 2011

Week 5 results

Again I don't have all the results but I'll get out the ones I do.

Jason P.-8.2 (everybody feel free to send him Krispy Kremes, LOTS of Krispy Kremes)
Julie M.-7.4 (BARELY lost anything after kicking butt all week and not cheating AT ALL! Grr!)
Jason R.-7.2 (any extra Krispy Kremes should head his way)
Alex-5.7
Stacey-5.6
Linda-5
Justin-4.6
Julie R.-4.5
Tammy-4.2
Shone-4.2
Lea-4.1
Angela-3.7
Helena-3.3
Sara-2.3
Lori-1.7

As usual, I'll add others as they come in.

Wednesday, February 2, 2011

Just a reminder

Hey everybody, I know we still have 3 1/2 weeks to go but I want to remind everybody about the very last weigh-in. Being as ultimately that is the only percentage that really matters I will have to receive your numbers by midnight on that Monday for them to count. I would hate for any of you to forget and then be disqualified after 8 long, hard weeks of work but I really would have to do that. As many of you know our last two competitions were so close the top two places were a difference of a couple of ounces so if anybody got an extra day and an extra ounce or so, it could make the difference. Also, because of this, on the last weigh-in would everybody send me a couple of extra decimal points just in case that happens again so I can figure out the 4 money placers. Thanks.

I will remind you again the last week as I want everybody to get counted!

Tuesday, February 1, 2011

Week 4 results, posting what I have.

I still only have 15 of the results so people can keep checking as I'll edit this as others come through. For now I'll at least get the 15 posted that I have.

Jason P.-7.4
Julie M.-7.1
Alex-6
Jason R.-5.5
Justin-4.6
Angela-4.4
Linda-4.3
Julie R.-3.5
Tammy-3.3
Helena-3.3
Sara-3.1
Lea-2.7
Lori-1.7
Melissa-.9
Shone-negative 3.1

Monday, January 31, 2011

Results on Tuesday?

Sorry people, I don't have enough results to post, only 8 people have sent them in. Hopefully I'll get them out tomorrow.

Sunday, January 30, 2011

Starting to head downhill.

Can you guys believe we will have soon finished half of the competition. I, for one, can not tell you how happy I am about that. Of course I'd be happier if the contest was over tomorrow but 4 more weeks isn't too bad.

For those of you who eat those "Thinwiches" I found what I think to be a better alternative. Don't get me wrong, I've used the Thinwiches a million times and like them but "Thomas Bagel Thins" are tastier and have the same points (as long as you get the 100% whole wheat ones) on a Weight Watchers diet and only 10 more calories as the Thinwich, calories I think are well spent. I found them at Costco yesterday and have eaten 3 of them already and greatly enjoy them.

So, I'll be looking forward to getting everybody's results tomorrow. Good luck!

Tuesday, January 25, 2011

Edited last post

In case you haven't noticed, I'm adding the results as I get them in so the previous post has changed a time or two. I apologize to a couple of you who I requested your information when I'd already gotten it. One keeps going in to my trash file and I forget to check there and another one I just missed.

Week 3 percentages

I have all but one of the results now so I've edited this post. All I need now is Lea's percentage.

Jason P.-6.3
Julie M.-5.9
Jason R.-5.4
Alex-5.0
Stacey-4.6
Tammy-4.2
Greg-4.1
Justin-3.7
Linda-3.6
Angela-3.5
Helena-2.9
Sara-2.6
Julie R.-2.3
Lori P.-1.7
Melissa-.9
Connie-0
Shone-negative 2.8



Monday, January 24, 2011

Come on people!

It's 8:00 on Monday night and I only have gotten 6 results so I won't bother posting tonight. I hope the rest of you get in your percentages soon.

Sunday, January 23, 2011

What's your thoughts so far?

Tomorrow will be our third week weigh-in and I'm wondering if anybody has any opinions yet on the shorter contest this year. I am personally THRILLED that we "only" have 5 weeks instead of 7 to go but am curious as to what the rest of you think. Ten weeks was just too long for me and I would not have done it again had it been that long so I was happy to have taken over so I could be the dictator and change that. So, let me hear the feedback.

Friday, January 21, 2011

I think I figured it out

I edited my last post as when I first added it I didn't have Lea's whole weight loss but I THINK I figured it out so I added it. Lea, if I'm wrong, please let me know.

Back in business!

So sorry everyone but we JUST got our computer back about an hour ago so I'll post the results now. I don't have Greg's but I'll get the rest up. I'll go back and check my millions of e-mails to make sure I'm not missing e-mails from those. Anyway, good job everyone, here are the results. I'll soon be posting week 3 too!
Jason P.-6.1
Jason R.-5.1
Julie M.-4.7
Alex-3.9 (GREAT FIRST WEEK!)
Linda-3.6
Stacey-3.6
Tammy-3.3
Justin-3.2
Angela-2.9
Lea-2.7
Lori-2.6
Shone-2.5
Sara-2.4
Helena-2.2
Melissa-1.9
Julie R.-1.8
Connie-1.4

YAY for us all! I'll get the other totals to you as soon as I can. It looks like it's time to start kicking both Jason's hineys!

Wednesday, January 19, 2011

terribly ill

The Apple store (no comment from you Jason P.) has determined that my parent's computer is indeed terribly sick and not well enough to come home yet. Friday maybe?

You have two options. You can either just wait and we'll have a two week results list next Monday OR you can email me your results and I will post a list from this past Monday. Hopefully their computer will be up and running again by next Monday otherwise I'll probably just take over.

Also, there are a few slackers out there who haven't anted up yet. Pay up! If you need my mom's address you can email me and I'll get it for you.

Happy skinny day to you.

Monday, January 17, 2011

Computer woes

Hey there everyone! It's weigh in day and I hope you all are feeling skinny and fit.

My mom's computer is at the computer doctor and out of commission for today. Go ahead and still email her your results, it might just take her a day or two to post the results. I was going to take over but it felt like it would be too complicated since I don't have everyone's email addresses. Just be patient with her, your numbers will be up soon in all their glory.

Have a great day!

Wednesday, January 12, 2011

The final one

I just got our final percentage from Shone. She got 2.1% so it looks like we all had a good week.

Tuesday, January 11, 2011

Good recommendations

I just had to pass on a couple of yummy things from Costco (I'm sure you can get them elsewhere but this is just where I get them) that are really healthy and filling and a good diet food. The first is "Don Lee Farms Veggie Patties" and I LOVE these. Like my daughter Lianna said, they taste like what is inside an egg roll so if you like that, you'll like these. For those of you following the Weight Watcher's diet, which is the one I always follow, it's only worth 3 points. If you throw it on one of those "Thinwiches" (1 point) and add a ton of other veggies (sauteed mushrooms and onions, tomatoes, cukes and onions) it makes a really filling and healthy lunch for very few calories and/or points.

My other new find as of just last Saturday is "Morning Star Chipotle Black Bean Burgers" (Sara I can hear your screeching tires on your way to pick those up). DELICIOUS!!! They were sampling them and I nearly wrestled the lady to the floor for an extra piece and then went and bought them directly. They have a little kick to them which I like as I do enjoy spicy foods and they are yummy by themselves (as are the veggie patties) or on a burger. They are worth 4 points.

Also to Greg and Jason, I've heard the Krispy Kreme donuts help you burn lots of fat and are now considered a health food so be sure and indulge. Wash those down with ever nutritious pepsi and some pepperoni pizza (with extra cheese for that calcium that you need) for good measure.

More results

I heard from 5 more people so I think now we may only be missing Shone.

Jason R.- 4.3%
Stacey-4%
Lea- 2.5%
Julie R.-1.5%
Connie- 0%

Yikes, I can see I'll have my work cut out for me if I want to take home any money this year. Of course I am commander and chief of the money so that may help. :)

Again, good job folks!

Monday, January 10, 2011

Results

Well, it's 7:00 now so I guess I'll go ahead and post the results I have, I'll add the others as I get them. It appears that Greg is the one to knock off the hill as he was the "biggest loser" this week.

So here are the percentages lost this week:
Greg- 4.3%
Jason P.- 3.7%
Julie M.- 3.4%
Angela- 2.8%
Linda- 2.7%
Justin- 2.2%
Lori- 1.7%
Sara- 1.7%
Tammy- 1.1%
Helena-1.1%
Melissa- 0.6%

Alex just started today so he won't have a post but we're still missing Julie and Jason R, Stacey, Shone, Connie and Lea so if you guys can get me the totals as soon as possible I'll get them posted too. I just didn't want to keep everybody in suspense any longer.

CONGRATS everyone, we did AWESOME!!!! Keep it up!

Percentage calculation.

After my REALLY stupid message on how to calculate the percentage of weight you lost I was reminded again that I was wrong, so, So, SO wrong so even though I know you all know how to do it, this is how. You divide your total pounds lost by your original weight. Once you get that number you'll have to move the decimal point over 2 places to the right and THAT will be your percentage. I'm sure I managed to confuse everybody even though I've known how to figure percentages since I was about 10, I'm actually really good in math but I'm sure many of you are skeptical. I really will be fine in charge of this, really.

Official Prize Money

Here is how the prizes will be broken down:

4th place-$36.00
3rd place-$72.00
2nd place-$108.00
1st place -$144.00!!!

Good incentive to literally work your butt off huh! I have about half the results in and everybody has done great. I'll wait for the rest till I post. We have a newcomer as of today so obviously he won't have had a loss but has already been to the gym today so good for him and Melissa just joined a couple of days ago but still had a loss so good for her too! I have been very impressed with the losses!!!

So how was your first week?

Today's the day to get everybody's first week percentage losses, I hope you all had a good week (but not so good as to embarrass me). I am happy with my loss as it's my best start to date BUT that is because I started at my heaviest weight ever! Boo hiss to that. I don't have my official loss in yet as I haven't exercised yet this morning so am hoping to shed another half an ounce. I'll be happy with what I have though even if it means I am now at my starting weight of the last two years. I enjoyed Christmas far too much.

I look forward to getting all your numbers AND we have one final participant, Angela's brother is now joining us so that makes us an even 18, that's a great sized group!

Saturday, January 8, 2011

Edited my last post!

Being as I had made a ridiculously wrong calculation as far as the first prize winnings would be, I have adjusted that in my last post. I really am good in math even though I have done nothing to prove that. I honestly have no idea where that first number even came from as nothing about it made sense. My only excuse is I'm old.

Wednesday, January 5, 2011

Growing by the day!

We are up to 17 now so we have LOTS of competitors. My best friend (Connie) from H.S. told her sister Lea about our competition and she wants in too, as does Sara's friend Melissa. WOW! Here I thought our group may be small this year and now it's one of our biggest I think. This will really bring out our competitive nature now won't it. First place is now up to $136.00!!!!

Tuesday, January 4, 2011

One more

Stacey E. has now joined our ranks. So here we are at 15, I definitely say we'll pay to 4 places.

Monday, January 3, 2011

And then there were 14

We have two new members of our club! My sister Tammy has joined the ranks of us losers as has Sara's friend Shone. Any more? With that many I think I'll do 4 winning places and make it an easy 40-30-20-10 split. How does that sound? If you all only want to do 3 places let me know. If we do it that way I'll probably go 45-35-20. See how I'm just making all the decisions by myself for the most part, I'm becoming a control freak already.

Today's the day!

So it's official weigh-in day which I have done sadly enough. It proved why I need to be in this competition. It looks as though the participants will be Sara and Greg J., Jason and Laurie P., Angela and Justin B., Julie and Jason R., Helena R., Connie M., Linda M. and me. (Am I missing anybody, I know of a few others who were considering). There may be some stragglers throughout the week but for now it's the 12 of us, GO US! My husband Wayne is still debating, I told him I won't nag him for 8 weeks like I usually do if he wants to compete. He has weighed in "just in case".

Good luck to all! Let's hear it for SKINNY!!!!

Saturday, January 1, 2011

On to a skinnier 2011

So, as you all know, I, Julie Montgomery, am going to keep track of the blog this year since it is a bit hectic for Sara trying to do this while reining in 4 small children.

So far our group is small this year so if it remains small there could only be pay-offs for the top 2. As of now Sara and Greg, Angela and Justin, Helena, Linda, Jason and Laurie (Lori?) and I are confirmed contestants but I am waiting to hear from more.

Let the games begin! Since I gained back ALL my weight PLUS 2 lbs. since last year's competition, I am in dire need of this to get me motivated again. I am ready and want to win!

Good luck to all!!!